Mrs. Beasley’s Basket giveaway!

Mrs. Beasley's Medium Summertime Basket

Mrs. Beasley's Medium Summertime Basket

In celebration of our BIG Mrs. Beasley’s Special Offer this week, we want to give away one of our NEW Mrs. Beasley’s gift baskets!

Never tried Mrs. Beasley’s delectable desserts? Well, now is your chance!

This gift basket includes Mrs. Beasley’s fabulous chocolate truffle cookies (definitely an office favorite around here), assorted mini tea cakes and Cheryl’s snack sized crunchy cookies, brownies and buttercream frosted cookies – the best of both baking families in one festive gift basket!

 To enter, all you need to do is tell us, in 1-2 paragraphs, what your favorite Memorial Day Picnic dessert is and why.

And the winners are….

Winner #1: Post #19 Written By Jamie S. on May 25, 2011 at 8:18 pm
Winner #2: Post #7 Written By Sandy A on  May 23, 2011 at 10:51 pm
Winner #3: Post #15 Written By FaithJ on May 24, 2011 at 2:41 pm

Tagged: , , , , ,

27 thoughts on “Mrs. Beasley’s Basket giveaway!

  1. kathy chambers May 23, 2011 at 10:07 PM Reply

    My favorite would have to be my Aunts Jello cake…..She is no longer with us, but we all know how to make it so we still keep it on the menu. I will have to honestly say I have never heard of Mrs Beasleys so dont know much about her items..My daughters birthday is the 26th so we always have a birthday cake which as long as its a pound cake from Stocks we are good to go….

  2. Natalie J. Vandenberghe May 23, 2011 at 10:16 PM Reply

    I love fresh strawberry o’cheese pie. It may not be the easiest thing to take along on a picnic but, if there’s a way to keep it cold, it’s the most delicious dessert ever. We also love to have watermelon and other fresh fruit. Cookies, brownies, or bars are certainly easy–no plate or napkin required. For the past 15 years, the dessert we usually have on Memorial Day is a birthday cake–because we are celebrating my daughter’s birthday on May 31st. Mrs. Beasley’s gift basket would be perfect at home or for a picnic. Thanks for the giveaway.

  3. Jessica King May 23, 2011 at 10:20 PM Reply

    My favorite dessert would have to be Chocolate Crinkle Cookies. My Mom started making these when I was really young and anytime an occasion came up I remember asking her to make them. School function? Chocolate Crinkles. Thanksgiving? Chocolate Crinkles. Birthday? Chocolate Crinkles. Even as an adult myself now I still love these cookies. My son is not a chocolate fan so we don’t make them much anymore, but I do love to make them every now and then. Even if I am one of the few people eating them. 🙂

  4. lisa t May 23, 2011 at 10:22 PM Reply

    Strawberry rhubarb pie has to be my favorite Memorial Day dessert! I have a garden of fresh ruhbarb,add the strawberries and this makes a pie like no other,Love it served warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream,right after the parade!

  5. lisa hawkes May 23, 2011 at 10:27 PM Reply

    Sugar cookies, frosted with vanilla frosting topped with blueberries and raspberries. Yum.

  6. Liz McComas May 23, 2011 at 10:37 PM Reply

    My favorite is fruit salad surprise. You put in a can of Eagle Brand sweetened condensed milk, miniature marshmallows, cherry pie filling, a can of mandarin oranges, a can of pineapple tidbits, sliced bananas, seedless grapes and chopped walnuts.

    Why is this my favorite? I spent a year and a half in Montana with a guy I loved very much. I loved him, his family, Montana and the slower pace to life. I have depressive Bipolar 1 Disorder and because of me falling apart and never dealing with issues from my past I ruined our lives together and made everyone miserable until I finally came back to Florida. I made amends with him and his parents (he’s now engaged and has a baby girl so we don’t talk). But I will always remember the cookout we had where his whole family came over (he has 5 brothers with assorted wives/girlfriends/kids) and his uncle and aunt and grandpa. I made that salad and EVERYONE loved it. We lived in a small carriage house on a horse farm and I just remember feeling such joy. I was with a family I loved, out in the country and having a real cookout at MY house. Every time I make that salad all the fond memories and good feelings come flying back. And the gratefulness that I finally got help and got through my past.

  7. Sandy A May 23, 2011 at 10:51 PM Reply

    My favorite picnic dessert would have to be frosted brownies, no nuts. It just seems like the All American dessert (sorry apple pie!) and it’s easy to transport and eat if your picnic isn’t in the backyard.

  8. Jane May 23, 2011 at 11:42 PM Reply

    My favorite Memorial Day picnic dessert is brownies with homemade fudge frosting. They are delicious and easy to pick up without needing utensils. Also, warm weather won’t hurt them!

  9. Amber May 23, 2011 at 11:48 PM Reply

    My nana use to make a flag cake every memorial day and 4th of July. A yellow sheet cake with vanilla frosting, strawberries and blueberries to make the flag. This year I am going to start the tradition with my 5 and 4 year old daughters. I have showed them pictures and they are super excited 🙂

  10. Elle Kaye May 24, 2011 at 1:39 AM Reply

    My family’s favorite Memorial Day picnic dessert is blueberry pie. Something about blueberry pie just say summer! We are from New Jersey, which despite its bad reputation 😉 is actually a large blueberry producer.

    Growing up, we often went to Maine for a summer vacation, so blueberry pie combines local fruit, nostalgia and summer anticipation.

  11. Janice May 24, 2011 at 3:52 AM Reply

    it would HAVE to be peach pie! Sweet, delicious, savory pie…. great for any time, but particularly summer because it never fails to put a smile on my face when I take the first bite. Apple pie’s a classic, but peach just reminds me of summer with its sweet juiciness and plumpness. You just can’t go wrong with peach pie

  12. Melanie Morin May 24, 2011 at 6:08 AM Reply

    My favorite Memorial Day picnic dessert is my mom’s oatmeal and raisin cookies. She makes the best and they disappear pretty quickly!

  13. Shakti b. May 24, 2011 at 6:51 AM Reply

    Watermelon. Fresh and crisp and not pithy. I can go through 1/2 a full size watermelon in a day. Strawberries with fresh whipped cream on pound cake is also delicious. And of course Rhubarb Pie is heavenly. But consistently I find my favorite to be just straight watermelon. Super delicious and easy. It might be the easy part that makes it my favorite (minimal prep and all that.)

  14. alittleteteatete May 24, 2011 at 11:12 AM Reply

    Strawberry short cake, well, takes the cake! When I was a little girl, we would always go strawberry picking over the Memorial day weekend. I have amazing memories of my Mom and I creating the most delicious cake. We would make our own angel food cake and whipped cream. Divine!

    In fact, we still do it every year. I think it’s important to revisit our childhood memories, and I know my Mom and I do have the best time picking strawberries again. They are so sweet this time of year that it is a crime not to! So, make some memories with your kids – it stays with them. 🙂

  15. FaithJ May 24, 2011 at 2:41 PM Reply

    My favorite picnic dessert has to be chocolate brownies. I know chocolate melts, but if you pack the brownies in a small cooler or have an ice pack in the picnic basket, they are perfect. Chocolate makes the best dessert, I always choose it over pies or anything else. My only love that is stronger than chocolate is for a Cheryls buttercream frosted cookie! I would love to try Mrs. Beasleys basket, thanks for the chance to win it!

  16. Esther May 24, 2011 at 9:38 PM Reply

    Having a large family one dessert was never enough. At times it would seem like a bake-sale. We would have homemade apple pie and strawberry short cake. Someone would always bring chocolate chip cookies and rice krispy treats for the kids. My favorite was the strawberry short cake. It just reminds me of the start of summer.

  17. Donna Lee May 24, 2011 at 10:56 PM Reply

    My favorite all time dessert is blueberry buckle, we make it when the kids come home from all over and the grandkids love it. Its not a holiday without blueberry buckle.

  18. Linda F May 25, 2011 at 7:44 PM Reply

    My favorite Memorial Day Picnic dessert is Chocolate Chip Cookies. They are easy to transport and need no refrigeration. Chocolate Chip Cookies are an all-American dessert and therefore worthy of an all-American holiday. The basic recipe can be changed to satisfy a lot of people. You can add nuts, white chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, M & Ms. etc and in any combination. They can be frosted or not.

  19. Jamie S. May 25, 2011 at 8:18 PM Reply

    My favorite Memorial Day dessert would have to be our Red, White and Blue Jello Poke Cake- its so fun to make, putting strawberries and blueberries on top of the whipped cream, making it look like our beautfiul American Flag! Every bite of the moist white cake has delicious cherry jello and makes it so delicious! It isnt too heavy and is an exellent addition to our traditonal family BBQ. God Bless America, and our drops who gave up their tomorrows so I can have my today!!

    • Jamie S. May 25, 2011 at 8:19 PM Reply

      *troops*

  20. Colleen May 26, 2011 at 6:09 PM Reply

    My favorite Memorial weekend snack is Cheryl & Co. snickerdoodles, which I take each year to the Indy 500.

    They’re individually-wrapped, which makes sharing with seatmates easy and hygenic!

  21. Susan Ashbridge May 26, 2011 at 9:18 PM Reply

    My favorite Memorial weekend dessert is Cheryl & Co. Vanilla Frosted buttercream cookies. They are addictive!
    Of course, fresh homemade strawberry shortcake with whipped cream on top is okay.tt.

  22. Donna Lee May 26, 2011 at 10:03 PM Reply

    Our family loves anything Cheryl & Co make, good quality and great for anytime family gets together. Sweets for the Sweet…

  23. Lucy May 28, 2011 at 5:57 AM Reply

    My favorite Memorial Day dessert is Jello Salad. I don’t know why that’s the name but it is! It’s cottage cheese, Orange Jello, crushed pineapple, mandarin oranges and Cool Whip. Since I’m diabetic and some of my family member are I substituted heavy cream for Cool Whip. I also use Sugar Free Orange Jello. I’m not saying this is lo calorie but it is delicious. Also made this plenty of times for bridal and baby showers. I’m sending for the free 6pc Sampler today. Can’t wait to get the cookies and try them.

    makeupgirl21@comcast.net

  24. Lori May 28, 2011 at 4:54 PM Reply

    Light and simple. We would have strawberry shortcake and watermelon. Fruits are a big part of our summer picnics.

  25. Robin May 28, 2011 at 7:56 PM Reply

    Greetings,my family favorite is UPSIDE-DOWN PINEAPPLE CAKE,which i have the honor of baking with sweet pineapples,butter,cherries and vanilla ice cream on the side(a la mode)with cool whip on top,it’s sooooooooo good…i love how it brings our family together and keeps u seated,since everyone is always on the move as we share our past time/present memories to last a lifetime engraved in our hearts to cherish always…=]

  26. Barb Williams May 31, 2011 at 2:36 AM Reply

    My favorite Memorial Day desert is my great grandmother’s strawberry cobbler. It is a family recipe that has been passed down from generation to generation and there is just nothing comparable to it. Warm strawberry cobbler in a flaky crust with a scoop of homemade vanilla bean ice cream is a Memorial Day tradition. My great grandfather, grandfather, father, and husband are all veteran’s and we ensure that we share our love with making the cobbler and sharing it with at least 2 other military families on Memorial Day.
    I love it because in my family it signifies love and appreciation for our veterans.

Leave a Reply

